Holding Hands, Mucking Through

The best part about being married to my best friend is the quiet moments that scream so loud in my ear sometimes, surprising me in a way that wakes me up so I look around and say, “thank God I am alive to see this!” Never take your significant other for granted. If you are blessed with the opportunity to have the most of your life to spend with them, don’t allow yourself to squander the moments. Don’t allow yourself the risk of waking up next to a stranger wearing a matching ring. The best part about being married to your best friend is the perpetual exploratory mission you set off on, starting the day you take each other’s hand in marriage. Now it’s real and now you’re bound for life, bound on the same path, each with a responsibility to watch out for the other, to be the eyes on the other side. To be the perspective the other needs, to be the piece the other is missing.

I have been contemplating this quote by Plato as my fair ginger lover and I go through some changes and experience for maybe the first time, what it means to be married and not just blissfully ignorant of the real world. I will be the first to admit that our honeymoon lasted longer than most – almost two full years. When we woke up one day and felt differently, we had to face those changes despite the confusion, anger, fear and hurt we felt. I say “we” because this is something we both entered into, this contract to have and to hold til Death parts us. (Even then, I’ll follow him into the dark like the little dumb girl who was eaten by the Vashta Nerada first.)

Plato said,

“According to greek mythology, humans were originally created with four arms, four legs and a head with two faces. Fearing their power, Zeus split them into two separate parts, condemning them to spend their lives in search of their other halves.”

I don’t know where we’re going, but we’re going together. There are a countless number of infinite points where the pieces of the Universe match up perfectly. Countless and yet nearly impossible to find, but when you know, you know.

UNTITLED and INCOMPLETE

Wherever you wander,

there I may follow.

Where your absence is marked,

there I be hollow.

When you dance,

I will sing,

Though we’re off step and key,

Fears disappear, drowned in our dreams,

Bring out even the best

in the worst parts of me.

Half my purpose to exist,

my silver lining pessimist.

This is going to be one of those times where I’m going to leave you hanging. Good night and good Karma!

-xoxo : )

Leave a Reply

