Words that make a statement

thosewordstkg

I was browsing Pinterest this lovely evening, and came across this gorgeous poem that really strummed my heartstrings. Sometimes I read words that I feel so strongly as if they were exhaled from my body and inhaled by someone else who had the mindfulness to write them down. I am envious of those who do this, especially those who write words that I’ve searched for with such desperation as I have these past few weeks. It has been a roller coaster of a year for me personally so far, and this poem really says it all about the secret feelings in my heart.

No feelings are ever unwarranted. They are there because of reasons – whether you can come to term with those reasons determines how well you handle yourself when those feelings are manifested into attitudes and actions. One tip – it’s easier to handle those reasons if you understand them, and a great way to understand your feelings is to write them down so as to read them exactly as you mean them. I absolutely recommend journal writing as a great therapy technique, but also as a writing technique.  Honesty makes the best poetry – or something like that. 😉

There is a growing movement to use Pinterest as more of a social media website  and gain some free advertising by way of uploading pieces of work for viewers to read and pin to their boards. Much like the Whisper app that allows users to make an inspirational or confessional “meme” of sorts, Pinterest is being used to spread quotes, flash fiction, pieces of poetry and other artistic works of the print persuasion. Pinterest is how I learned of poets such as Lang Leav and Tyler Knott Gregson, whom I’ve chosen to feature in this post because, out of the hundreds of images that came up in a quick Pinterest search of “poetry” these words pounced on my heart. 

That’s what I love about the Internet. It’s a global network that allows my words to reach others, and allows others to share words that I can relate to, though I may never meet these authors in real life. Their work still has an impact on me as a reader and as a writer. When authors tip their noses up at the idea of being posted on the Internet, I say, “What’s the harm in being exposed? What’s the harm in sharing your words with anyone who is willing to read them? Isn’t that what you’re doing it for?”

I am in the process of submitting many pieces that I would love to share with an audience. However, I am restricted from publishing my own work on my blog at the risk of never having them published professionally. I wish this were not the case so I could share these pieces with my friends, family and potential readers, but I cannot risk the potential opportunity to be published on a more mass level. This is unfortunate for me, because if these pieces are never picked up for publication, I have lost all this time to share them with people who may actually read them. I feel this is not a fair publishing practice and do wish there was something we could do about it. I implore anyone with inside knowledge to please explain to me why this is a common practice in the publishing industry. All comments and feedback are appreciated!

Challenge for the week – mosey on over to Pinterest, set yourself up an account (super easy and you’re gonna love it!) and do a quick search of poetry or quotes. There may even be a category for it. Find a few that jump out at you – and after reading through them, consider what those choices say about you. What words are you carrying inside?

Have a great evening, and thanks for reading.

-xoxo 🙂

Leave a Reply

