to the only one who ever left me wondering:

Image

 

unfinished

 

You still have those smoldering eyes

Watching every step

I retrace, for miles.

That jawline so sharp

It cuts me to the core

To see you smile.

I remember how soft your hands were

When they held mine,

How soft your heart was then.

I wish I knew how they felt

When you waved goodbye

While I wasn’t looking.

 

You were a hard lesson

And a bittersweet mistake.

The sweetest stumble

I ever took.

The worst poetry I ever wrote,

And a mystery

I fear

I will never

Solve.

Leave a Reply

